Director General, National Agency for the Great Green Wall (NAGGW), Mr. Goni Ahmed, has said that Great Green Wall was on course to eradicating poverty in 11 states in the North considered to be on the frontline.

Speaking in Kano recently at a training workshop for community associations within the GGW corridors, Ahmed said the rural areas would be the major focus of the poverty eradication scheme, adding that with the endemic nature of the scourge such intervention had become necessary.

He said desertification was a serious environmental problem threatening development endeavours that touched all facets of livelihood in the nation’s semi-arid zone, adding that the phenomenon was identified as one of the major constraints affecting the attainment of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

He said the World Bank had estimated that over N105 billion was lost annually through deforestation, desertification and drought, adding that approximately 31 percent of “Nigeria’s population wallows in extreme poverty with an income of less than N200 per day.

He said the National Agency for the Great Green Wall was poised to reduce poverty and hunger as a result of desertification in the 11 frontline states, stressing that the initiative ïs helping people to organise themselves into cooperative associations to enable the Agency to fully implement the programmes.”

Also speaking, Head of Community Mobilisation and Livelihood of the Great Green Wall, Hajiya Bintu Kolo, noted that poverty in the rural areas was a menace that must be confronted with vigour and seriousness, stressing that the rural dwellers were the ones to eradicate it.

She called for understanding and cooperation of all stakeholders in the poverty eradication crusade, stressing, however, that without a sustained synergy the quest for achieving a poverty free society would remain a mirage.


Larai Daze



27th August, 2015


The interim office of the National Agency for Great Green Wall established last year to strategize and adequately address the desert areas of the country is now an Agency recognized by law.

Former President, Goodluck Jonathan before his exit assented to the Bill and the law is now in the Federal Republic of Nigeria official Gazette.

The functions of the Agency will among others include:

(a)        Implement the Great Green Wall programme in Nigeria

(b)        Provide baseline information to stakeholders for the implementation of the programme

(c)         Formulate strategies and action plans for the implementation of the programme

(d)        Co-ordinate efforts of Agencies, Organizations and Institutions responsible for desertification towards the attainment of the objectives of the programme

(e)        Serve as the focal point for the Co-ordination of interventions by regional, sub-regional and international organizations and agencies involved in natural resources management in the drylands of Nigeria in the implementation of the programme

(f)              Ensure effective liaison with the African Union Commission and the Pan-African Agency of the Great Green Wall

(g)        Create public awareness and provide environmental education on the goals and objectives of the programme in addition to promoting private sector and stakeholders compliance with guidelines, rules and regulations, including new orientation on sustainable land management system.

(h)        Promote early warning systems and remedial measures on drought and desertification.

The Great Green Wall programme is a Pan-African initiative launched in 2007 by the African Union (AU) with the goal to address land degradation and desertification in the Sahel region, boost food security and support communities to adapt to climate change. The project was originally conceived as a 15km wide strip of greenery of trees of some 7, 775km long from Dakar, Senegal in the West to Djibouti in the Horn of Africa in the east.

Eleven countries are participating in realising this very important programme to tackle the menace of desertification and land degradation in the Sahel region. These countries include: Burkina Faso, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sudan and Chad.



Larai Daze

H (Press and Public Relations)


11 June, 2015