The interim office of the National Agency for Great Green Wall established last year to strategize and adequately address the desert areas of the country is now an Agency recognized by law.

Former President, Goodluck Jonathan before his exit assented to the Bill and the law is now in the Federal Republic of Nigeria official Gazette.

The functions of the Agency will among others include:

(a)        Implement the Great Green Wall programme in Nigeria

(b)        Provide baseline information to stakeholders for the implementation of the programme

(c)         Formulate strategies and action plans for the implementation of the programme

(d)        Co-ordinate efforts of Agencies, Organizations and Institutions responsible for desertification towards the attainment of the objectives of the programme

(e)        Serve as the focal point for the Co-ordination of interventions by regional, sub-regional and international organizations and agencies involved in natural resources management in the drylands of Nigeria in the implementation of the programme

(f)              Ensure effective liaison with the African Union Commission and the Pan-African Agency of the Great Green Wall

(g)        Create public awareness and provide environmental education on the goals and objectives of the programme in addition to promoting private sector and stakeholders compliance with guidelines, rules and regulations, including new orientation on sustainable land management system.

(h)        Promote early warning systems and remedial measures on drought and desertification.

The Great Green Wall programme is a Pan-African initiative launched in 2007 by the African Union (AU) with the goal to address land degradation and desertification in the Sahel region, boost food security and support communities to adapt to climate change. The project was originally conceived as a 15km wide strip of greenery of trees of some 7, 775km long from Dakar, Senegal in the West to Djibouti in the Horn of Africa in the east.

Eleven countries are participating in realising this very important programme to tackle the menace of desertification and land degradation in the Sahel region. These countries include: Burkina Faso, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sudan and Chad.



Larai Daze

H (Press and Public Relations)


11 June, 2015